Olympic Inspiration

Olympics 2014Let yourself be inspired with my guest writer, Marlene Kattaron, and her excellent article on Olympic Inspiration.

Have you watched any of the Olympic Games?  I really hadn’t paid much attention to the hoopla of the games—I didn’t watch the opening ceremony and I didn’t even watch any events until several days into the games, mainly because I don’t watch TV much.  A few of my co-workers were really excited about them and almost made me feel like I wasn’t living up to my patriotic duty as an American for not having watched any of it yet.

When I caught some of the Olympic action, I understood the feeling that my co-workers experienced.  Watching these athletes is not the same as watching the Super Bowl, the World Series, Wimbledon or even the Final Four.  Though there’s nothing wrong with watching any of these top sporting events, it seems that the playing field for the Olympics sets a different, and perhaps a higher significance.

The level of excitement seems so much higher, the enthusiasm so much more intense, every chance at the gold but just a few fleeting moments of expression of athletic prowess.  Hours and hours of commitment, years and years of dedication for the chance at gold—gold that can turn to silver, bronze or air over mere tenths of a second.  It almost doesn’t seem fair.  After all, aren’t all of the competitors top athletes?  Yes!  But only one can earn the gold.  Notice that I did not say “win” the gold.  You don’t win the gold, you earn it.

olympic Inspiration

“Luck has nothing to do with it, because I have spent many, many hours, countless hours, on the court working for my one moment in time, not knowing when it would come.”  -Serena Williams, Winner of 2 Gold Medals at 2000 and 2008 Olympic Games

“… playing sports is not about winning gold medals. It’s about self-esteem, learning to compete and learning how hard you have to work in order to achieve your goals.”–Jackie Joyner-Kersee, member of the International Women’s Sports Hall of Fame and three-time Olympic gold medalist in track and field

“I am building a fire, and every day I train, I add more fuel. At just the right moment, I light the match.  -Mia Hamm (American football player, 2004 Summer Olympics)

“There is no mat space for malcontents or dissenters.” -Dan Gable, former Olympic wrestling champion 

 “The Olympics remain the most compelling search for excellence that exists in sport, and maybe in life itself.” -Dawn Fraser (Australian swimmer, 3-time winner at the Olympics)

 “It is the inspiration of the Olympic Games that drives people not only to compete but to improve, and to bring lasting spiritual and moral benefits to the athlete and inspiration to those lucky enough to witness the athletic dedication.” -Herb Elliott, Winner of Gold Medal at 1960 Olympic Games

“It took me time to realize that the men who won Olympic gold medals in the decathlon are just men, just like me.” -Dan O’Brien, Gold Medalist at 1991, 1993, 1995 and 1996 Olympic Games

We don’t all have the gifts or talents to become athletic champions, but there is one thing that is certain—we all have the choice to become champions of our own lives!  We must do what is necessary to set and achieve our goals.  It is easy to live by excuses or blame and it is much more challenging to “do.”  Doing what is necessary and right even though you don’t want to, is what separates excellence from mediocrity.  I hope you have an excellent day! –Marlene Kattaron

 Marlene Kattaron is an independent marketer for the licensed public utility company, Stream Energy.  As an Ignite Associate (marketing arm of Stream), Marlene helps people save money on gas and/or electric services for residential and commercial service.  She is able to personalize your service with unsurpassed individualized customer service.  Stream Energy’s motto is, “Be my friend.  Give me your business.  And Save.”  Marlene also helps people earn money through professional network marketing and team building for those interested in earning additional income on life-essential services.  If you would like to learn more about Ignite or Stream Energy, you may contact Marlene at 404-403-2793 or Kattaron@bellsouth.net.

Leave a Reply

